14
Jul
09

How to set up SBF the warrior way

Saying that “you can do X and Y” is all very good, but saying “here is how you do X and Y” is a lot better. So, to deviate from my addon presentation momentarily, I’ll go into more detail about my SBF setup. SBF has a few things that aren’t immediately intuitively logical to the first time user, so I’ll try to remove a bit of the mystique, as well as show what it can do.

Let’s take a look at the options frame then.

SBFconfig1

First off, there is the whitelist and blacklist concept. The tooltips for both these (and in general in the options screen) are very clear and helpful. The whitelist shows what you tell it to, nothing else. The blacklist is the exact reverse; it shows you everything except what you tell it not to. The “frame unit” frame indicates the origin of the buff. It is rather a long list, but it is luckily intuitive. It’s especially interesting to note that there’s a “mouseover” option, which could be helpful to healers or tanks. “Player” here naturally refers to…the player character. The “Show buffs” and “Show debuffs” can both be ticked off, or you can choose which you want to see. In this case, only buffs are ticked, since SBF1 is a buffs frame.

The keys to making SBF dance are the “spells” and “filters” tabs. They both do the same general thing in each their own way, namely to filter buffs and debuffs to various frames, which is ultimately why you want to use SBF.

At this stage, a quick rundown of my frames is in order:

  • SBF1: Buffs
  • SBF2: Personal/short duration buffs
  • SBF3: Debuffs
  • SBF4: Slam!
  • SBF5: Targets target debuffs

SBF2 is really the most interesting frame since it’s where I put the buffs that are important to me, i.e. warrior shouts and the cooldown abilities.

SBFconfig2

This is a screenshot of my filters tab. As you can see, it contains the warrior shouts, the warrior self buffs, Loatheb’s Shadow, Heroism, and Fungal Creep. These are the essential buffs I need to watch in combat, and they’re all (partially at least) controlled by me. The “n=” denotes that its the name of the buff/debuff and the statements that involve the “&” are conditions I set. For example, the “&my” means a buff that I have cast, while “&c” refers to a buff cast only by my class. Note that the latter one is a remnant from earlier versions of SBF and as such its actually redundant.

For those of you that don’t understand the filtering language, fear not, because I used the spells window to set up the filters without ever having to type a single bit of gobbledegook. Let’s take a look:

SBFconfig3

Provided you’ve encountered the buff before, select it in the list on the left. In the middle you then have a few options. If your frame is a whitelist frame, merely click on the “show this buff” tick box and it should start appearing in the designated frame. As an example, I’ve ticked off my Battle Shout. Since I want it to show up regardless of who cast it, I haven’t ticked the “cast by me” box. You select whther you want a list of buffs or debuffs with the tickbox on the right. Note that only spells you have actually encountered in combat will show in the list since SBF is not psychic. It takes its information from the game itself, so if you haven’t encountered it, it wont show. However, you can, provided you know the name of the spell, type it in manually in the filters tab.

SBF2 is a whitelist frame as said. In a blacklist frame, the “Show this buff” box becomes “don’t show this buff”, since it will by default show everything unless told not to. As such, I’ve set my SBF1 frame up to be a blacklist frame. I don’t need the shouts showing up in that frame, so I’ve set it to exclude those.

The final frame I have is the “debuffs on the tank” frame. Why is that useful? To be honest, for a DPS’er it’s ever so slightly irrelevant. But being a warrior I sometimes need to tank, and having to switch profiles in addons midgame is something I detest loudly. So, I have a frame to show what debuffs are on the current tank. It is only relevant in fights like Gluth and Razorscale, but since its a vital bit of information for the tank, I like to have it plainly visible.

SBFconfig4

The frame is set to whitelist and the frame unit to targets target, which ensures that I always see the status of the current tank (which includes myself when I’m tanking). I have deliberately kept the number of buffs low in it, since there a) tends to be only one buff of interest per fight and b) I want it to be visible(!) For the same reason, I’ve made it rather big in my UI, so that when it does pop up, it isn’t missed. It isn’t a frame that sees much use, but on fights like Gluth it comes in very handy.

“But…you haven’t mentioned anything about feature X!” Too true, I haven’t. SBF has many more features than I have described in the above, most notably the Buff Flowing feature. It’s a whole topic in itself, and if you’re interested in it hop over here. However, the above setup should see you well on the way to discovering the true power of SBF. For the people thinking “that’s only for warriors though” I have only to say that, with slight variations on buffs shown in frames 2, 4, and 5, I use essentially the same setup across my range of characters.

A final word should be said on the display options in SBF. Each frame can be set to display times, icons and/or bars. So whether you prefer the Blizz style rows of buffs or the Elkano style stacks of bars, SBF caters for your needs. It’s even possible to have the buff bar in a different location than the icon itself, so if you have a fancy UI that needs buff bars to be detached from their icons, you can do that too.

As always, feedback is more than welcome, whether good or bad. Have an inventive use for SBF that you want to share? Or ideas for how better to use it? Shout out. Addons are a work in progress (isn’t everything), so there is always room for improvement.

0 Responses to “How to set up SBF the warrior way”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

